Ghostbusters and Adventure Worlds Revealed at Gamescom

As expected, Lego Dimensions made an appearance at Gamescom this year.

For those of you unfamiliar with Gamescom, it is the world’s largest video game trade show/convention. That’s right, it’s bigger than E3. E3 is the largest show in America, but Gamescom has definitely got it beat.

At the show Lego Dimensions made two major announcements.

Ghostbusters Sets Revealed

Level Pack - Ghostbusters - 71228From previous leaks we already knew that Ghostbusters were going to be involved with Lego Dimensions, but we didn’t know exactly which characters to expect.

This week Lego announced three Ghostbusters set. This includes 1 Level Pack and 2 Fun Packs.

This is the fifth Level Pack to be revealed, but in the long run we are expecting a Level Pack for each of the 14 properties included in Lego Dimensions.

All three of these sets are currently available for pre-order even though none of them will release this year.

The Ghostbusters Level Pack is set to release on January 19, 2016. The Stay Puft Fun Pack is set to release on March 31, 2016. And the Slimer Fun Pack won’t release until May 31, 2016. This will definitely be an exercise in patience.

Adventure Worlds

In addition to the new sets, Lego Dimensions announced Adventure Worlds.

Now this might not seem like a big deal, but ultimately it means a lot more Lego fun to enjoy.

If you’ve played any other Lego video game before you’ll be able to understand this better.

Each Adventure World is essentially like the hub world in the previous Lego games. It is a large open-world area in which you can interact with other characters, complete quests, and collect studs, gold bricks, etc…

I have always been impressed with the hub worlds in previous games, but now they are telling us that we can unlock an Adventure World for each of the 14 properties in Lego Dimensions. That’s crazy!

480 Gold Bricks

480 Gold Bricks!

In order to unlock an Adventure World you simply need a character from that dimension. So when you purchase the Starter Pack you will already have access to 3 of the 14 Adventure Worlds since you get Batman, Gandalf, and Wyldstyle.

Within each Adventure world there will be quests for specific characters to complete. For example (in the video below) you could be in the Wizard of Oz Adventure World and run into some ghosts. In order to get rid of the ghosts and complete the quest you will need Peter Venkman from the Ghostbusters Level Pack.

Just to clarify, the Adventure Worlds are separate from the main storyline and they are different from the Level Packs. They just added a lot more value to the game.

I’m excited. Are you?

Matt Sonnenberg P.O. Box 262 Altoona, WI 54720

©2015 Version 33, LLC All rights reserved.